November 9th – NaNoWriMo

writing-word-cloud

I love words. Except when I’m writing. A contradiction? Perhaps. Nonetheless, writing words that fit the story in my head is difficult.

When I was young and impressionable, I thought that being a good writer meant that I had to use big words to express bigger ideas. I devoured dictionaries and thesauri, adamant that I would rank right up there with the great classics.

My writing bored me to tears.

All my pretentious words, the pseudo-philosophical themes – they weren’t what I enjoyed reading. Why I thought I’d enjoy writing them, I don’t know.

There are people who are brilliant at portraying abstract concepts. There are authors who use words like verisimilitude and grandiloquent effectively in their writing. I am not one of them.

During NaNoWriMo, there’s no time to write any other style than that you’re comfortable in. If grand words and abstract themes are for you – write them! If irony and humour slip into your paragraphs – go with it! If your character swears worse than a sailor – add them to your word count!

There’s time enough at the end of the month to fix the words to fit the story in your head. For now, the only thing that matters is that the words – big or small – are written.

So love the words you write now. Hate them later.

Daily Prompt: 

Take a look at this site. Are there any words there that would make it into your NaNo novel? Include them in your next scene.

Word Goal: 1667

Total Word Goal: 15 000

***

How do you feel about your writing during NaNoWriMo? Do you struggle to get the words out in any order resembling the story you want to tell? How do you deal with it?

 

Leave a Reply

