November 23rd – NaNoWriMo

I hope you’ll all forgive the second late post in a row. I have a good excuse, I promise.

I don’t normally blog about my personal life – or at least, I try not to. But today is the exception to the rule.

Thirteen months ago, my father was diagnosed with Stage IV Terminal Cancer. All capitalised because that’s how life changing it is. He was given three weeks to get his affairs in order. This morning, he passed away peacefully at home after an amazing year spent creating memories that will carry our family through the grief that lies ahead.

I was fortunate enough to be able to be at home with him right until the end, and although today has been exhausting for a variety of reasons, I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Today’s post is not really about NaNoWriMo, it’s about my Dad. A man who accepted me – quirks and all – and encouraged me to chase my dreams. Even when that dream was writing 50 000 words in a month.

So today, in honour of my Dad, I’d like to encourage you to chase the dream that made you attempt NaNoWriMo. Because whether you know it or not, one day the dreams that you spend your life creating, will inspire the people you leave behind.

Make them worth remembering.

 

Leave a Reply

